Many individuals regard peanuts as nuts, but in reality, these are legumes. Is the fat content in peanuts excessive? Do peanuts offer sufficient protein to you? In what way can these support a fully plant-based diet? Shared below is a rundown on everything that you may wish to know regarding peanuts’ nutritional value and how these compare to other vegan protein sources.
Are Peanuts Good For Health?
There is more fat content in peanuts than in other kinds of legumes. An ounce of peanuts or about 2 tablespoons of peanut butter is good for those seeking healthy nutrients, such as fat and protein.
Peanuts contain much more unsaturated fats than saturated fats, much like in the case of olive oil. These legumes also have phytosterols, which can prevent dietary cholesterol absorption. So, these products have an effect of reducing cholesterol.
Peanuts are an excellent source of minerals, which include biotin, niacin, copper, phosphorus, and vitamin E. These are a reasonable protein source too (more on this later).
The legumes contain resveratrol, which is a polyphenolic substance. Polyphenolic compounds are macronutrients full of antioxidants, which will possibly fight cell damage.
However, peanuts also have their fair share of controversy. These legumes contain some artificial compounds, which can adversely affect the process of bodily nutrients being absorbed. One of these antinutrients is phytic acid, which can adversely affect your body’s capability of absorbing zinc and iron from non-legume food items. But this does not mean that you should skimp on the peanut butter-based recipes that you prefer. Just be sure to follow a balanced diet composed of fresh produce, legumes, grains, and other vegan protein sources.
What Is The Quantity Of Protein In Peanuts?
Protein comprises of amino acids, which are substances linking up to create sequences that constitute protein. It is important for muscle creation and muscle repair, as well as, almost all cells and tissues in the human body. It also helps with body functions such as the clotting of blood, proper immune function, and so forth.
Meat, egg, fish, and some dairy products have high levels of protein, but you can easily get sufficient protein from plant-based food items. You can fulfill the recommended daily allowance of protein through peanut butter and legumes. As per Harvard Health, the RDA of the nutrient is 0.8 for each kilogram of one’s weight.
All forms of peanut offer about the same quantity of protein, but there is the much lower fat content in peanut powder. There exist 8,000 milligrams of protein in 4 tablespoons of the powder made from peanuts. There are around 10 grams of the nutrient in 4 tablespoons of the raw legumes. There are 8,000 milligrams of the substance in 2 tablespoons of the butter made from the legumes.
Peanuts Versus Other Vegan Protein Sources
The protein level in peanut butter is higher than many nut butter products. Here is a low-down on the nutrient quantity in the other vegan protein sources as compared to peanut butter.
Seitan: An ounce of this product has 21,000 milligrams of protein.
Tofu: There are 10,000 milligrams of protein in 4 ounces of solid tofu.
Black beans: A single cup of these will provide you with 15,000 milligrams of protein.
Garbanzo beans: There are 39,000 milligrams of it in a single cup of garbanzo beans.
Lentils: While the protein quantity varies according to lentil, your average cup of these products will yield about 18,000 milligrams of it.
Quinoa: After cooking quinoa, you can get 8,000 milligrams of protein from a single cup of the prepared product.
Nutritional yeast: There are 9,000 milligrams of protein in 2 tablespoons of the yeast.
Hemp seeds: One-quarter cup of industrial hemp’s seeds offers 15,000 milligrams of the nutrient.
Vegan Burgers: You need not restrict your plant-based diet to just the products that are either unprocessed or least processed. A vegan burger from a well-known brand offers about 20,000 milligrams of protein.
Can Vegans Have Peanut Butter?
Almost every peanut butter product is vegan-friendly because only peanuts, salt, and oil are used to produce it. Certain brands use vegan-friendly sugar or other vegan sweeteners, such as agave syrup, to produce their peanut butter items. Other peanut butter brands use palm oil, which is an ingredient suitable for vegans.
When you shop for this product, seek one without any added sugar and hydrogenated oil. Just be sure that peanuts are the main ingredient of it.
Some brands are likely to use honey in the butter. Honey is not a vegan-friendly ingredient because humans exploit bees to take it from beehives. Vegans are supposed to avoid using these kinds of products, to stop animal exploitation. Keep in mind that bees belong to the larger category of living things.
Certain brands include some amounts of sugar in powdered forms of peanut butter. It is worth noting that sugar could be a non-vegan ingredient in the event of bone char being used to filter it.